December – The Official Month of Ungratefulness – Meditation #BoxingDay

I gave up the daily meditations when I realised that I didn’t feel obligated and you didn’t notice. Yesterday was a religious holiday that has a questionable past and an even more questionable present (see what I did there?). One thing I think everyone can agree on is that if there was a baby Jesus, he wasn’t actually born on the 25th of December. That’s some date that an Emperor and a Pope came up with. It conveniently ties in with other religious festivities, some of which sound much more fun than Christmas.  Apparently, the Christian thing was supposed to be about giving and shit. Now it’s just a festival of materialism and a worship of gluttony. Oh, the irony.

banksy-consumer-jesus1

Credit to Banksy – or so they say

Today I am ungrateful for the fact that I wrote a blog about spoiled entitled children and the adults who enable them and then I thought ‘yawn, boring …everyone knows about this shit already and they still participate’. So, rather than falling into a trap of taking myself far too seriously, I’m going to go and eat some fucking steak, drink some fucking wine and look forward to the great comedy that 2017 will be bringing us. If we can thank the USA and its consumerist culture for anything it is for gifting us with the biggest, small handed, bad haired, orange icon of unbridled entitlement the world has ever seen and making him their leader. So many things that can and will be said.

38050df000000578-3778111-image-a-52_1473270862246

Oh and I’m really ungrateful that George Michael died on Christmas Day. He really did give his heart away.

 

Leave a Reply

